Dirty Old Town

Posted: July 2, 2011 in Fav Stuff
Tags: , ,

The best thing about Naples is the pizza & the book I just read.  “Just Kids” by Patti Smith.  In a city teeming with rubbish, I fell into a love story instead.  I didn’t venture out too much at night but escaped the hostility and negativity by going back in time to find peace, love and creativity.  An autobiography written by Patti Smith about important relationships, how they shaped her throughout her life as an artist and a person.  It tells a story of love which was not defined by any boundaries or labels, which was true to those who felt it.  She writes how she thinks and her voice is inspiring.

  I walked the streets of Naples and felt the hostile stares and was warned not to enter certain areas as trouble lurked behind the scenes.  Every car had a permanent scar from driving and parking on the streets on Napoli.  I felt the anger rise as the smell of the rubbish permeated the streets.  Some areas of rubbish had been burned in protest.  A standoff between the government and those underground that controlled the collection had developed.  Strikes were occurring.  A new law was to be introduced.

I did not feel safe walking alone.  A friend had her bag stolen and another was sold an iPhone which had been switched for a strip of metal.  We got spat at on a night out.  Our taxi almost had a head on collision.  I was ready to leave.  On my last day, I was so happy to be leaving I practically skipped down the stairs then promptly fell on my arse.  It was God’s way of telling me not to forget where I was, not to get too happy in Naples.  I felt my anger rising and the environment having an effect on my thoughts and feelings.

I read about Patti’s life and how she reacted to sometimes heart breaking situations without anger, bitterness, resentment or rage.  In her own voice, she understood what was going on around her, the reasons behind it and how it would come to shape her.   I tried to do the same and rise above it.  It was very difficult to do when even the sleazy waiter wouldn’t leave me alone.  I finished the book in a few days and highly recommend it.  I cannot say the same about Naples.  Maybe it is a jewel that needs to be polished but to me it just seemed like a dirty old town.  Another great thing about Naples is leaving…

Comments
  1. Simon says:

    I must keep an eye out for that book. I’m glad you found something to help you handle all that Naples threw at you!

Leave a Reply

